Best Derma Roller for Damaged Hair and Thin Spots
Seven microneedling rollers and kits compared on needle count, needle length, handle build and what each listing actually publishes, with a named winner and the conditions that flip it.
The best derma roller for damaged hair is The Beard Club Derma Roller for Face, because it puts 540 titanium-coated 0.25mm needles on a 28.3 g handle that works across scalp, beard and face without a swap. If you want wider coverage per pass, the USEENN Ultra Wide Titanium Derma Roller carries 1200 needles at the same 0.25mm depth. Needle length is what splits this field, and every roller here lands on the same number. That single figure explains more about your results than any brand name in the set.
Best derma roller for damaged hair at a glance
| Pick | Needle count | Needle length | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall The Beard Club Derma Roller for Face |
540 titanium claim | 0.25 mm claim | Check Price |
| Most versatile USEENN Ultra Wide Titanium Derma Roller |
1200 titanium claim | 0.25 mm claim | Check Price |
| Best for heavy use FOLLICLY Derma Roller |
192 titanium claim | 0.25 mm claim | Check Price |
| Best upgrade PLANTIFIQUE Derma Roller for Hair & Skin |
540 titanium claim | 0.25 mm claim | Check Price |
| Best budget pick Glemme Microneedle Derma Roller |
Not stated | 0.25 mm claim | Check Price |
| Best for families Botanic Hearth Rosemary Oil with Derma Roller |
Not stated | Not stated | Check Price |
| Best premium RootStim 5% Minoxidil Spray + Derma Roller |
Not stated | 0.25 mm claim | Check Price |
How the picks were scored, and why needle length carried the most weight
Four criteria decided the order, weighted unevenly on purpose.
- Needle length, weighted heaviest. Every roller in this set that publishes a length publishes 0.25mm. That is the shallow end of microneedling, the depth sold for at-home use without downtime. A roller that skipped this figure lost points, because depth is the one number that changes what the tool does to your scalp.
- Needle count and material, weighted second. Titanium-coated needles are stated on four listings. Counts run from 192 to 1200. Count changes how many passes a session takes; it does not change depth.
- Published specification depth, weighted third. The Beard Club lists weight at 28.3 g, dimensions at 6.5 x 1.85 x 1.65 in and a model number, BR-DRM-RL-30-002. Two picks publish a colour and nothing else. When a listing goes quiet, you are buying on trust.
- Handle and storage, weighted last. A protective case is stated on three listings. USEENN claims a weighted metal grip. These are comfort factors, not outcome factors.
Why that order? Because the derma roller category is crowded with rollers that differ only in the barrel, the plastic and the box. Depth and material are the two variables that separate a tool from a novelty, and everything after them is grip preference.
Does a derma roller actually repair damaged hair?
Short answer: no roller repairs a damaged strand. Here is what the listings in this set actually claim, and where they stop.
The keyword people search is "damaged hair", but a roller works on the scalp, not on the fibre above it. None of these seven listings claims to mend split ends, heat damage or chemical breakage. What they describe is scalp and follicle activity. The Beard Club describes microneedling for hair and beard. FOLLICLY describes a scalp derma roller with 0.25 mm ultra-fine needles. RootStim is the only pick that names an active drug, stating a 5% minoxidil formulation.
So treat the best derma roller for damaged hair as a scalp tool, and judge it that way. If your hair is breaking mid-shaft from bleach or flat-iron heat, a roller is aimed at the wrong layer. If your concern is thinning at the crown or a receding front line, the scalp is exactly the right target and rolling is a plausible part of a routine.
Two honest caveats. Nothing in this data set proves a roller improves hair, and I am not going to pretend otherwise. And 0.25mm is the shallowest tier sold, so if you were expecting the sort of depth used by clinicians, none of these picks goes there.
1. The Beard Club Derma Roller for Face — Best overall
The most fully documented roller here, with 540 titanium-coated 0.25mm needles and a published weight, size and model number.

Best for: scalp, beard and face on one 540-needle head Skip it if: you want a metal handle or replaceable heads
What separates this pick inside the set is documentation. It publishes a 28.3 g weight, a 6.5 x 1.85 x 1.65 in size and the model BR-DRM-RL-30-002. Four of the seven picks here publish nothing beyond a colour, so you are comparing marketing copy against marketing copy. Here you can check the barrel length before it arrives.
The Beard Club states 540 titanium-coated 0.25mm microneedles, which is the mainstream configuration for at-home scalp work and the same depth the rest of this field claims. The listing also describes it as usable on face, scalp and beard, and says a storage case is included. At 28.3 g, this is a light tool. That matters on a scalp session, where you are running the head over the crown and the front line for a couple of minutes and your wrist does the steering.
It also sells faster than anything else in this group, which is not proof of quality but does tell you the design is well established rather than a one-off listing.
The trade-off against USEENN is coverage. With 540 needles instead of 1200, a full crown pass takes longer. Against RootStim, the gap is bigger: there is no active ingredient in the box, so this is the tool only.
Pros:
- 540 titanium-coated 0.25mm needles stated
- Only pick publishing weight, dimensions and a model number
- Light 28.3 g handle for longer scalp sessions
- Storage case stated on the listing
- Sells faster than the rest of this set
Cons:
- Plastic handle rather than the weighted metal USEENN claims
- No replaceable head, so the whole tool is the consumable
- Half the needle count of the widest roller here
- No oil, serum or active ingredient included
2. USEENN Ultra Wide Titanium Derma Roller for Face Hair — Most versatile
The widest head in the set at 1200 claimed titanium needles, with a replaceable head and a metal handle.

Best for: covering a wide crown area in fewer passes Skip it if: you want published weight and dimensions before buying
USEENN is the coverage play. The listing claims 1200 needles, and calls that more than double a standard 540-needle roller, at the same 0.25mm titanium spec. If your target zone is a broad crown or the whole top of the scalp rather than a small patch, more contact per pass means fewer passes to cover it.
Two build claims set it apart. USEENN describes a replaceable head design, which is the only listing here to do so. Needles dull with use, and on every other pick that means replacing the entire tool. It also claims a weighted, non-slip metal grip, against the plastic handles implied elsewhere. A storage case is stated too.
Where it falls short is the specification sheet. The published details amount to a colour, Black & Silver. No weight, no dimensions, no model number. That is a real gap when the handle is the selling point, because "weighted metal" without a figure is a description rather than a measurement.
Against The Beard Club, the swap is documentation for coverage. Against FOLLICLY, USEENN is the harder-hitting tool per pass, which is not automatically what a tender scalp wants.
Pros:
- Highest claimed needle count in the set at 1200
- Only pick claiming a replaceable head
- Metal, non-slip handle claim
- Storage case stated
- Same 0.25mm depth as the documented picks
Cons:
- No published weight or dimensions
- Only one seller lists it
- Heavier head can feel aggressive on thin scalp skin
- Costs more than the two entry rollers for unverified build figures
3. FOLLICLY Derma Roller — Best for heavy use
The lightest-touch roller here, with 192 claimed titanium needles and full published weight and dimensions.

Best for: gentler sessions on a tender, flaking scalp Skip it if: you want maximum coverage per pass
FOLLICLY runs 192 titanium needles, the lowest count in this comparison, at 0.25 mm. Low count is usually framed as a weakness. For frequent rolling it can be the opposite. Fewer contact points across the same skin area means a lighter session, and if you plan to roll several times a week rather than once, that is the profile you want.
It is also one of only three picks here that publishes weight and dimensions: 2.82 oz and 0.79 x 5.51 x 0.79 in. That slim 0.79 in barrel width is the narrowest figure in the set, which makes it easier to steer along a hairline or a parting than a wide head. The listing describes an ergonomic anti-slip handle and calls the tool compact and travel-friendly, and it names scalp use directly rather than treating hair as an afterthought.
The honest limitation is speed. Covering a full crown with 192 needles takes noticeably more passes than covering it with 1200, and there is no replaceable head mentioned.
Against The Beard Club, FOLLICLY trades needle count for a narrower, lighter barrel. Against Glemme, it costs more but tells you far more about what you are getting.
Pros:
- Lightest touch in the set at 192 needles
- Narrow 0.79 in barrel for hairlines and partings
- Published weight of 2.82 oz and full dimensions
- Titanium needles at 0.25 mm stated
- Scalp use named explicitly on the listing
Cons:
- Slowest coverage of the four rollers with stated counts
- No replaceable head
- Only one seller lists it
- Storage case described as free rather than specified
4. PLANTIFIQUE Derma Roller for Hair & Skin — Best upgrade
A 540-needle titanium roller pitched face-first, with a published 6.69 x 1.73 x 1.57 in body.

Best for: face-first users who also roll the hairline Skip it if: you are price-sensitive
PLANTIFIQUE matches the winner's core numbers: 540 fine titanium needles at 0.25mm. It publishes dimensions of 6.69 x 1.73 x 1.57 in, making it the longest barrel assembly stated here by a small margin, and it comes in grey. A hygienic storage case is stated.
The difference is emphasis. The listing leads on skin texture and complexion, describing a roller for face and beard care, with hair named second. If your primary use is facial and the scalp is a secondary target, that framing matches how you will actually use it, and the lightweight ergonomic handle is described for beginners.
Where it loses ground is value positioning. This is one of the three most expensive picks in the set, yet its published capability matches The Beard Club's cheaper 540-needle roller almost point for point. No weight is published, no model number, and no replaceable head is mentioned. You are paying a premium for presentation rather than for an extra stated feature.
Against USEENN, PLANTIFIQUE gives up more than half the needle count at a similar position. Against The Beard Club, it is the same spec for more money.
Pros:
- 540 titanium needles at 0.25mm stated
- Full barrel dimensions published
- Hygienic storage case included per the listing
- Ergonomic handle described for first-time users
Cons:
- Priced above a cheaper roller with matching stated specs
- No published weight or model number
- Face-first listing copy, with hair use secondary
- Only one seller lists it
5. Glemme Microneedle Derma Roller for Hair Beard Face Skin — Best budget pick
The cheapest way into the category, at a stated 0.25mm depth and almost nothing else confirmed.

Best for: first-time rollers testing the routine cheaply Skip it if: you want needle count and material confirmed
Glemme is the cheapest of the seven, and its case is simple. Rolling is a habit before it is a result. Plenty of people buy a roller, use it twice and abandon it, and there is no sense paying premium money to discover you are one of them. This pick lets you find out.
The stated depth is 0.25mm, matching the rest of the field, and the listing describes it as suitable for hair, beard, face and skin. It calls the tool comfortable and ideal for beginners, with an ergonomic design and portability. That is the whole picture.
What is missing is most of the picture. The published specification is a single line: colour, black. No needle count, no needle material, no weight, no dimensions, no case. Every other roller with a stated count names titanium; this one names nothing, and on a needle you press into your scalp, material matters. Treat it as an entry ticket rather than a long-term tool.
Against The Beard Club, the gap is documentation, and it is wide. Against FOLLICLY, you save money and lose every verifiable figure except depth.
Pros:
- Cheapest pick in this comparison
- 0.25mm depth stated, matching the rest of the field
- Described for hair, beard, face and skin
- Compact and portable per the listing
Cons:
- No needle count published
- No needle material published
- No weight, dimensions or storage case stated
- Only one seller lists it
6. Botanic Hearth Rosemary Oil for Hair Growth — Best for families
A 2 fl oz rosemary oil bundled with a roller, so one purchase covers a shared topical.

Best for: sharing an oil while each person keeps a routine Skip it if: you already own a rosemary oil
This is a kit, not a roller. Botanic Hearth publishes a 2 Fl Oz size, a 5.11 oz packed weight and a 2.5 x 4.7 x 1.5 in box, and describes rosemary oil blended with biotin, jojoba and castor oils, positioned as an alternative to a hair growth serum. The listing also says it is free from synthetic colours and added artificial fragrances.
The household case is straightforward. An oil is shareable in a way a needle head is not. If two or three people in the house want a scalp routine, one bottle covers the topical while each person keeps their own roller, and this bundle gets the oil into the house alongside a starter tool. The listing directs you to roll gently, then apply a small amount.
The roller half is the weak half. No needle count, no needle length and no needle material are published for it, which is a significant blank when four other picks state 0.25mm titanium. This is also the second most expensive pick here, and it is the slowest seller of the seven. Buy it for the oil, and treat the roller as a bonus rather than the reason.
Against RootStim, the topical here has no active drug. Against The Beard Club, you get the oil but lose every roller figure.
Pros:
- 2 fl oz oil with rosemary, biotin, jojoba and castor stated
- Full size, weight and box dimensions published
- Shareable topical for a multi-person household
- Free from synthetic colours and added fragrance per the listing
Cons:
- No needle count, length or material stated for the roller
- Second most expensive pick in the set
- Slowest seller of the seven
- Redundant if you already keep a rosemary oil
7. RootStim 5% Minoxidil Spray + 0.25mm Derma Roller Hair Growth Kit — Best premium
The only pick with a named active ingredient: 5% minoxidil in a 2.02 fl oz spray, plus a 0.25mm roller.

Best for: pairing rolling with a 5% minoxidil routine Skip it if: you cannot commit to daily application
RootStim is the outlier in this comparison, and the reason is one number: 5% minoxidil. Every other pick sells a tool or a cosmetic oil. This one names a drug the listing describes as widely recognised and clinically studied for hair regrowth, in a 2.02 Fl Oz spray, alongside a 0.25mm roller. The listing names thinning hairline, crown and patchy beard as target areas, and says many users report visible improvements in 8 to 12 weeks.
That timeline is the real commitment. A minoxidil routine is daily and open-ended, and the listing frames continued progress as coming with continued use. Rolling is a supporting act here; the spray is the product.
The cost is the highest in the set, and the published specification on the roller is thin. Size, colour and count are listed; the needle count and material are not stated, though the 0.25mm depth is in the title. If minoxidil is not something you want to start, everything you are paying extra for goes unused, and one of the documented rollers above serves you better.
Against The Beard Club, this trades roller documentation for an active ingredient. Against Botanic Hearth, the topical is pharmacological rather than cosmetic.
Pros:
- Only pick with a named active ingredient at 5% minoxidil
- 2.02 fl oz spray with rosemary and biotin stated
- Roller included at the same 0.25mm depth as the field
- Hairline, crown and beard all named as target areas
Cons:
- Most expensive pick in the comparison
- Needle count and material not published for the roller
- Requires daily, ongoing application to matter
- Bundled roller is the secondary item, not the focus
Needle count: does 1200 beat 540?
Not in the way the packaging implies. Needle count changes how fast you cover an area. Needle length changes what happens under the skin, and in this set every stated length is identical at 0.25mm.
Here is how the counts line up:
- 192 needles — FOLLICLY. Lightest contact, most passes required.
- 540 needles — The Beard Club and PLANTIFIQUE. The mainstream configuration.
- 1200 needles — USEENN. Widest coverage, fewest passes.
- Not stated — Glemme, Botanic Hearth, RootStim.
Three of seven picks never publish a count at all, which is worth noticing before you treat the number as a decisive spec. The practical read: pick a high count if your target zone is large and you want short sessions, and a low count if your scalp is sensitive or flaking and you plan to roll often. The 540 middle is where most buyers land for a reason.
One more thing the count does not tell you. Nothing in this data states how long any needle head lasts, so count is not durability either. Only USEENN claims a replaceable head, which is the one build feature in this set that directly addresses needles dulling over time.
How to use a derma roller on your scalp without wrecking it
The mistakes in this category are procedural, not product-related. A roller does not fail; a routine does.
- Roll on a clean, dry scalp. Section the hair so the needles reach skin, not hair, or you are just combing.
- Use light pressure. At 0.25mm, pressing harder does not go deeper in any useful way. It just drags.
- Go in one direction per pass, then change direction. Lifting between passes prevents the head from tearing sideways.
- Keep sessions short. Two to three minutes over a target zone is plenty at this depth.
- Clean and dry the head after every use, then case it. Three picks here state a storage case, and that case exists to stop bent needles.
- Space out sessions. Skin needs recovery time between rolls, and more frequent is not better.
- Do not roll over active irritation, sunburn, open skin or scabs. Wait until it has settled.
The biggest single error is combining a fresh roll with a stinging topical. If you apply the RootStim spray or any active immediately after rolling, absorption changes and so does irritation. Read the product's own directions, and if you are on a medicated routine, ask a clinician about timing rather than guessing from a listing.
What the listings do not tell you
Four blanks run across this whole set, and they are the same blanks whichever pick you choose.
Needle lifespan. Not one of the seven listings states how many sessions a head is good for. Titanium coating is claimed on four picks, but coating is not a wear figure. USEENN's replaceable head is the only structural answer to this, and even that comes without a replacement interval.
Warranty. No published warranty appears on any pick here. That is unusual to say out loud, but it is the honest state of the data, and it means the return window is your only real recourse.
Needle count on three picks. Glemme, Botanic Hearth and RootStim all skip it. On a needle product, that is the headline figure, and its absence is information.
Physical size on four picks. Only The Beard Club, FOLLICLY, PLANTIFIQUE and Botanic Hearth publish dimensions. If barrel width matters to you, and it should if you are working a narrow parting, half this field is unknowable before it arrives.
That is why the best derma roller for damaged hair in this comparison is the one that fills the most of those blanks, not the one with the biggest number on the box.
When a different pick wins
Three conditions flip the recommendation, and each one is checkable in about ten seconds.
- Your target zone is the whole crown, not a patch. Then USEENN's claimed 1200 needles cut your session length roughly in half against a 540 head, and the replaceable head claim matters more over a year of use.
- Your scalp flakes, stings or reddens easily. Then FOLLICLY's 192 needles and 0.79 in barrel are the gentler proposition, and the narrow head is easier to steer around a sore spot.
- You are already committed to a minoxidil routine, or ready to start one. Then RootStim is the only pick in this set that gets you the 5% active and a 0.25mm roller together, and the tool-only picks are solving half your problem.
Two smaller flips. If you have never rolled before and genuinely do not know whether you will keep it up, Glemme is the cheapest way to find out and losing it costs least. And if two or more people at home want a scalp routine, Botanic Hearth's 2 fl oz oil is the shareable half of the purchase.
The verdict
The Beard Club Derma Roller for Face is the pick I would default to. It states 540 titanium-coated 0.25mm needles, publishes a 28.3 g weight, a 6.5 x 1.85 x 1.65 in size and a model number, and includes a case. In a category where three of seven listings will not tell you how many needles are on the head, that combination of a mainstream spec and a documented body is what a first purchase should look like. It also sits in the cheaper half of this set, which means the documentation is not something you pay a premium for.
Two conditions flip it. If your thinning covers a broad crown and you want shorter sessions, USEENN's claimed 1200 needles and replaceable head do more work per pass, and the metal handle claim is the only one of its kind here. If you are pairing rolling with an active treatment rather than a cosmetic oil, RootStim is the only pick naming 5% minoxidil, and no roller in this comparison substitutes for that.
The runner-up's exact advantage is coverage geometry, nothing more. USEENN does not go deeper than The Beard Club, since both state 0.25mm. It simply touches more skin per stroke, at the cost of every published weight and dimension figure.
FAQ
Is the best derma roller for damaged hair worth buying at all?
Whether the best derma roller for damaged hair is worth buying depends on where your damage sits. These are scalp tools at 0.25mm, and no listing here claims to repair a broken or heat-damaged strand. If your concern is thinning at the crown or hairline, the scalp is the right target. If your ends are splitting, a roller is aimed at the wrong layer entirely.
What does the cheapest option actually give up?
The cheapest option, Glemme, gives up nearly every verifiable figure. It states 0.25mm depth, a black colour and little else. No needle count, no needle material, no weight, no dimensions, no case. You are paying least and confirming least. It works as a trial purchase to test whether you will keep the habit, then upgrade to a documented roller if you do.
Is 0.25mm long enough to do anything?
At 0.25mm, needles sit at the shallowest tier sold for home use, which is why every roller in this comparison lands there. It is the depth marketed as requiring no downtime. Nothing in this data proves an outcome at that length, so treat it as the low-risk entry depth rather than a clinical dose, and read each listing's own directions before you start.
The Beard Club or USEENN: which should I pick?
Choosing The Beard Club or USEENN comes down to documentation against coverage. The Beard Club states 540 titanium 0.25mm needles plus a 28.3 g weight, full dimensions and a model number. USEENN claims 1200 needles, a replaceable head and a metal grip, but publishes only a colour. Small target zone and you want figures: Beard Club. Whole crown and fewer passes: USEENN.
What mistake do first-time buyers make most often?
The mistake first-time buyers make most often is chasing needle count instead of asking about hygiene and technique. A 1200-needle head used with heavy pressure on an irritated scalp is worse than a 192-needle head used gently on clean skin. Clean the head after every session, case it so the needles stay straight, and space out your rolls.
Start by measuring your target zone before you compare rollers. A patch at the temple and a thinning band across the whole crown call for different needle counts, even at an identical 0.25mm depth, and that measurement decides more than any listing claim. The Beard Club earns the default slot because it is the only pick that tells you what you are holding: 540 titanium needles, 28.3 g, a stated barrel size and a model number you can look up. In a category built on unverified claims, the roller willing to publish its own numbers is the safer first buy.
Last updated: September 21, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.